Intergalactic or Planetary?

You remember that outrageously holographic F/W09 collection from Balmain, and how it looked on the UK’s most overrated model of all time, Kate Moss? No? Here’s a reminder:

Well in case you were wondering, here’s what the £16 Asda rip off version looks like on a morbidly obese fatshionista:

Thanks to Deena for the heads up! I have to say, as much as I enjoyed parading round the house wearing this, I’m not sure I have the confidence to wear it out in public. I feel I would be a glutton for verbal abuse! But hey, I might throw a house party for an excuse to wear it… In the mean time, I’ll stick with these bad girls From Dorothy Perkins, which I’ve owned for a while. I will attend the structured-shouldered ball, dammit!

Meanwhile, I gotta curb this pun habit of mine.

Tags: , , , , ,

26 Responses to “Intergalactic or Planetary?”

  1. sarah Says:

    the asda version is better designed!
    I love that photo. It looks like a cat is taking it.

  2. M Says:

    I think you look great, and you should definitely wear it out!

  3. Sami Says:

    You look awesome my dear and I demand you wear it out! x

  4. christina Says:

    AMAZING!! what size does it go up to?

    • thepocketrocket Says:

      Annoyingly it only goes up to a 20UK, 18US – and it is veeeerrry tight! I’m normally a UK22 but I had to try it!

      Thanks so much for linking me by the way, you’re my favourite so it makes me really happy! I’m totally with you on the masks, I love them.

  5. Amy Says:

    Holy shit, you’re hot! Please wear it constantly. Although, if you don’t – sell it to me? xx

  6. Maria Says:

    Seriously, wear it out, wear it out, wear it out!

  7. Pix Says:

    it looks amazing on you! i am jealous i want one.

  8. Katrin Says:

    You look awesome in this dress! Wear it out to a nice party or something!!!

  9. Deena Says:

    Oh.
    my.
    freaking.
    gawd.
    You the the first person I’ve seen in it and you look HAWT! I think you should definitely wear it out- without a doubt!

  10. Nina (Nina on Everything) Says:

    You look fantabulooouuuus! (That was supposed to be said with the most about of flamboyance possible.)

    I love how fashion forward you are.

  11. Mars Says:

    Wow. This is too fabulous not to share with the world – be brave! You look gorgeous :D Definitely following you from now on, too!

  12. Gen Says:

    Lauren, this looks superb on you – and as someone who has known you for years, this is one of the best things I’ve ever seen you in.

    Good hair too :)

  13. emmme Says:

    I think we have a winner! wear it, wear it for all your sisters in the u.s. who can’t!

  14. emmme Says:

    and post a pic standing straight up, dammit.

  15. Brittany Says:

    I absolutely LOVE this dress on you!! I would wear that dress every chance i had!! Where it out, you’ll be the hottest in the place!

  16. Amy Says:

    You already know how I feel about this dress. HOTT (two t’s highly necessary). And yes: I HATE KATE MOSS. xx

  17. Jackie Says:

    I just bought this dress cos of you! don’t know if I’ll have the guts to wear it out the house either – will have to wait and see when it arrives!
    x

  18. Bronxgirl1 Says:

    I hope that you do wear the dress out. I think you look better in your version of the dress than Kate Moss. Wear it with pride. You look fabulous!

  19. NatNatz Says:

    Wooooooow…this dress is divine on you..defo keep and defo wear out!…strutt you stuff and wear with pride cos you look AMAZING!!

    P.s: was lovely to meet you today! x

  20. Ana Says:

    i totally blogged about this dress! i really wanted one aswell but my local asda only had size 8s in :( but you suit it so well :) if you ever get sick of it…my links up there xxxxxx

  21. lara Says:

    wear it!!! you look freaking fantastic! ive never followed a blog in my life but i think ill follow this one.
    I’m doing an art project about fashion advertising and the negative affects on young girls’ ideas of body when i came across this site.
    your blog makes me happy.

Leave a Reply

