Outfit: First Foray in to Sewing

NOTE: If you dislike pink, or flowers, please look away now. ;)


My mum is a former dressmaker, so whenever I needed anything altering she would whip it up in no time as it was quicker for her to do it than teach me. I used to be cool with this, but recently I’ve found myself getting envious of my friends’ ability to get crafty with their clothes and make things fit perfectly – not to mention realising what a valuable skill it is as a plus size yet petite fashion victim. What with the lack of clothing choices available anyway, I have the added annoyance of being drowned in dresses made for more statuesque frames. (Of course, it does have its plus points – I can get away with most tunics as dresses, for example.) If I could get up to speed with a sewing machine all these problems would be diminished, because I could make, sew and mend as I pleased!

Last year I began a dressmaking City and Guilds course. I enjoyed it so much, but then they moved the time and place to somewhere I could no longer get to and I had to leave. Gutted! Since then I left sewing to a distant pipe dream and concentrated on other things, but it was always nagging at me in the back of my mind. So I started nagging my mum for lessons. It took me 9 months but she finally relented, which leads me to this little beauty:

I bought this vintage dress on eBay the day after watching an episode of Pushing Daisies that featured an amazing dress on Chuck, even by her impeccable standards! I expected the colours to be more muted in real life, but as I opened the package even I was shocked at the loudness of the colours and the print!

The top fitted perfectly – polyester is the most forgiving of fabrics, although it might get you electrocuted – but alas, the bottom frill began underneath my bum, ending up a good two or three inches under my knee! So in my wardrobe it sat for over a year, until my mum suggested altering it as an easy first sewing lesson.

In the end, I lobbed off 7 and a half inches of fabric, and reattached the bottom ruffle. It’s not perfect by any means, but it’s a start, right? Next lesson: taking apart an old dress to make a fresh pattern, and building another from scratch. Yay!


Dress: eBay
Tights: Marks and Spencer
Shoes: Evans

I figured the look might as well be turned all the way to 11, so I added bright pink tights and trashy white heels. Now the sun needs to come out so I can actually wear it and offend a few people. Good old British summertime…

Tags: , , , ,

11 Responses to “Outfit: First Foray in to Sewing”

  1. nic Says:

    Oh wow to the pink tights! I have a few pairs of M&S coloured tights but haven’t seen the pink ones. WANT!

    Fab look by the way. :)

  2. Teegs Says:

    Such an icon. I was totally right. ^_^

    This dress is just perfect. It looks amazing on you.

  3. Katie Says:

    Wow! That dress is amazing, you must feel rather accomplished! The tights add so much va-va-voom as well! :-D

  4. Jackie Says:

    I love the colours! Really looks like it fits you like a glove now too :)

  5. Deena Says:

    Good job with the dress- it looks FANTASTIC! Love how you’ve paired it with the white shoes and pink tights.

  6. Amy Says:

    I wish I had a mum who could teach me how to sew! The print is too cute – glad it’s made it’s way out of your wardrobe!

Leave a Reply

