Sonsi Full Figured Fashion Week

Hey everyone!

The Good…

Evans have reactivated my discount code – EVPOCKET – hurrah! This means if you spend £40 you get 10% off – AND, they have a sale on at the moment so get spending! Offer ends 6th July.

Also, I was lucky enough to be sent some lovely pieces from Torrid which I am going to feature very, very soon. There is one dress that I am utterly in love with and stomped around in all day yesterday!

The Bad…

I also have some super sad news: I’m unfortunately not able to make it to the YFF Conference next month. I am properly, utterly upset about this (I was going to represent the UK! Like in Eurovision or the Olympics!) but my life had to come first, and it’s in a bit of a mess right now. However, the fabulous Nicolette is taking my place, and I’m going to get up at a silly hour in the morning to live chat with everyone at the meet and greet. It really is going to be a fantastic event, I can’t wait to see it all unfold.

And the fabulous…

Speaking of awesome plus sized events, the second Sonsi Full Figured Fashion Week took place in NYC, yay! It gained a lot more media exposure this time around, with articles on the NY Times and Jezebel. Naturally, straight sized fashion fans derided and scorned the event, but I honestly believe the plus sized fashion industry is only just starting to veer into more adventurous territory.

From what I’ve seen of the photos there has been a definite improvement on last year, however I still felt it was a little hit and miss for me. That said, here are a couple of my highlights from the runway:

All images copyright Xtina @ http://musingsofafatshionista.com

L-R: Chan.nel Karama; Susan Moses; Monif C; Pheline

Obviously so much more went on than that! A few of my favourite plus bloggers attended and have given extensive write ups – it sounds amazing, check them out:

Musings of a Fatshionista
Garner Style
Fat Shopaholic
Curvy Fashionista
Les Petriries de Vanoue

The best bit though? Runway News has videos of all the shows here. It’s so much better to see the clothes in motion, as strange as that sounds. Here is the Susan Moses collection:

All in all I think it’s great to see this kind of event happening. What do you all think about the designs? I so wish we could do one over here, it would be awesome!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 Responses to “Sonsi Full Figured Fashion Week”

  1. Tweets that mention Sonsi Full Figured Fashion Week « Pocket Rocket -- Topsy.com Says:

    [...] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Lauren, Lauren. Lauren said: NEW BLOG POST: Full Figured Fashion Week http://wp.me/pzT5G-9f #sonsifffweek woop! [...]

  2. Sonsi Full Figured Fashion Week « Pocket Rocket | Latest Hot Fashion Review Says:

    [...] More: Sonsi Full Figured Fashion Week « Pocket Rocket [...]

  3. Natalie Says:

    Oh! I’m loving the new layout! Very suave!

  4. Fashion Hayley Says:

    That’s sad that your not coming anymore. I hope you fix everything up and look forward to speaking to you on the live video chat.

    Hayley x

  5. Tami Says:

    I bought Channel Karama, its been nearly a year, never got the clothes or a refund, oh well.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

